Quinoa Stuffed Green Peppers!

Happy last day of 37 weeks pregnant to me! Tomorrow the big 3-8 hits. Kind of hard to believe I’m so close to the end but so happy and excited to meet this little boy that I’ve been growing inside of me for so long! Not to mention getting my pre-pregnant body back, sleeping on my stomach, drinking honey lattes from Metto Cafe (yummm), wearing jeans, going for runs, practicing vinyasa yoga again, and the list goes on!

me and baby bowling ball!

 

So a few days ago, a recipe on the Kathie Lee and Hoda show (best morning show ever) caught my eye which involved the super healthy grain – quinoa! Not only was it super easy to make but it was filling, healthy, and delicious! I posted the finished product on twitter and seemed to be quite popular so I thought i’d share the recipe!

 

Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

serves 2

1 red pepper

2 green peppers

1 large onion

3-4 pressed fresh garlic cloves

1 can of black beans – drained and rinsed

1 cup cooked quinoa

1 tbsp tomato paste

sprinkle of red pepper flakes

sprinkle of ground cumin

grated zest of 1 lime

shredded cheddar cheese

olive oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare a lightly sprayed baking sheet

In medium sized sauce pan, saute chopped onion, chopped red pepper, and pressed garlic with olive oil for about 4 minutes or until they look soft

Add in 1 tbsp tomato paste, sprinkle of ground cumin, sprinkle of red pepper flakes and cook until well blended (about another 3 minutes)

Remove from heat

Stir in cooked quinoa, black beans, and lime zest

Slice green peppers cavity side up and season with salt and pepper. Add about 1/2 cup of quinoa mix to each green pepper and put grated cheddar cheese on top.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 12-14 minutes or until pepper is soft.

Then of course, make your husband take you out to Baskin Robbins for dessert! Guess which one was mine?

Obviously the one that has the lick marks in it 😉

Tomorrow = 38 week appt and Grandma comes to town! So so excited to see her… haven’t seen her since my wedding in May 09!

What are your favorite quinoa recipes? I’m hoping to make it a big part of my diet now that I know I like it so much!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Quinoa Stuffed Green Peppers!

  1. Yum! Those quinoa stuffed peppers look marvelous.

Leave a Reply

