Daily Archives: July 7, 2011

Breakfast Sugar

When I saw that Quakers Maple and Brown Sugar Instant Oatmeal was buy one get one free at Publix, I had to buy it. While it may not be the best oatmeal out there, it is quick and easy to make. A must have when you don’t have the luxury of making a time consuming breakfast these days. (In other words, a breakfast that needs to be eaten before Dan goes to work and you take over full baby duties until 6pm). Since I’m still working on getting down to my pre-pregnancy weight, I was really pleased to see a lower sugar version out in the stores. When I opened the packet I was kind of grossed out to see a heap of sugar at the bottom of the packet and decided to experiment with this “lower sugar” version of the oatmeal.

After 5-10 shakes of the oatmeal, THIS is how much sugar fell out! I tried to write “ew” in the sugar 🙂


That is is ONE packet. Sheesh! “Lower Sugar” is more like “still a crap load of sugar but a little less than the regular version.”

I’ll be the first to admit that I fell for this marketing ploy and didn’t even both to turn the box around and read the nutrition facts.

I don’t know about you but if I’m going to eat sugar for breakfast, it’s going to be in waffles and maple syrup and NOT in oatmeal 😉


Leave a comment

Filed under breakfast